Footloose, fancy-free(lance) and focused.

I primarily work in an office, an oftentimes noisy and distracting office.

Sometimes the distractions are good and welcome – like when I’m not on deadline or haven’t been bitten by the writing muse yet and want to play with my family-like coworkers. 

And sometimes, I want just want to bellow, “Let’s play library!”

Last week, I had a huge interview (in length, not subject) to transcribe, and instead of trying to do it in bits and pieces amid the hijinks around the office, I packed up my recorder and headed home to hunker down and transcribe it all in one shot.

But when I got home, my desk was a mess, so first I had to straighten it up. (The irony that I had to clean my home-office desk but can sit among piles of papers and notes at my work desk was not lost on me.)

Then my stomach rumbled, signaling time for lunch, and since I have a strict No-Eating-At-My-Desk rule, I had to make a sandwich.

Then, may the noisy office gods strike me down for saying this, it was slightly too quiet for me to work. Enter Sirius Boneyard. (There’s just something inspiring about working to a slightly loud Dio or Iron Maiden song sometimes.)

Finally, I sat, I transcribed, and it was smooth sailing from there on out.

As someone who has spent her entire professional career in the confines of a cubicle, I really do enjoy the rare instances when I can write from home. 

I do have to wonder, though, especially as I add freelancer to my list of hats I wear, how do other writers and freelancers get/stay focused outside the confines of an office?

If you have suggestions or tricks, I’d love to hear them.

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in On writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

