Ink for Blood ponders ink for body

I have so many ideas running rampant in my head, but no time to act on them.

But something that’s been on the forefront the past few days has been thinking about My First Tattoo.

It’s been something I’ve been “thinking about” since I was roughly 16, always changing from a sunflower (my favorite flower of all, so hopeful a bloom!) to a dragon (per my beloved Dracula fascination that’s going on some 20-odd years) to my astrological sign (since I am so a Gemini it’s not even funny) to something that just finally hit me: Something wordy.

I’m a writer after all, so how the hell has it taken me so long to realize that I of all people should have a quote or a prolific song lyric put on my person? It was like the proverbial lightbulb went on in my head.

So last night, in hopes of starting what is sure to be just as long a process as it’s taken me to get this far, I scoured the song lyrics of Bob Dylan, the man, the myth, the legend that I had seen perform in Scranton (my fourth Dylan show, BTW) just the night before, and was seriously my favorite Dylan show yet.
If you’d like to read my review of the show that I wrote for the Weekender, you can put your little cursor here and click!

Whose words are more prolific than Dylan, I wonder? Especially for me? Maybe I’ll start scouring my Kerouac books and quote collection, because he’s been pretty influential to me as well …

Let the hunt begin … hopefully it won’t take another – gulp – 18 years.

What’s been the inspiration behind your ink?

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ink for Blood ponders ink for body

  1. Jack Campbell, Jr. says:

    Mine was my son. I have a Celtic Tree of Life on my shoulder. My son’s name origin is Scottish, meaning born under the yew tree. The Yew tree was sort of an astrological sign for ancient Celts. The yew trees limbs grow till they are heavy, then descend to the ground, where they become part of the root system. It is a symbol of life, growth, and rebirth. I thought it was fitting since, in many ways, my son is my rebirth.

  2. Pingback: Putting the ink in ‘Ink for Blood’ | Ink for Blood

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

