“Toast” of the town

Oh, there is really nothing I adore more than discovering a fabulous new eatery.
In this case, it was Toast Coffeehouse, in Port Jefferson, N.Y., where the fella and I stopped for a decadent and delectable breakfast on our way home from Long Island this past weekend.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Having been here before with his parents, the fella had been raving about this place for months, and I’ve been hankering to go ever since. Even his rave reviews didn’t do half the justice Toast deserves.

The fun and funky eatery is just a few blocks up from the water in this quaint fishing village. It’s not a big place by any means, and its aforementioned funkiness certainly wouldn’t be lost in the Village somewhere, and even on this past rainy Sunday, there was still a significant – and worthy – wait, but enough about all that, let’s get to the food, shall we?

I started with a delicious cup of cinnamon hazelnut coffee, one of the only times I’ve had flavored coffee not only smell like what it was called, but actually taste like it.
It was probably one of the tastiest cuppas I’ve ever had.

Fella went with what he had on his previous visit: graham cracker crusted French toast, with peanut butter, caramel sauce, cinnamon apples (which he had stand in for the dish’s usual bananas) and two huge sausage links.
It really was just as amazing as he’d been carrying on about all this time.

Since the laws of “su casa es mi casa” applies to his plate where I’m concerned (I’m a food writer, you know, I need to “sample”), I knew as much as I wanted my own plate of that rich and delicious French toast, I’d best get something else for us to try at Toast.

That something was the most ridiculously delicious blueberry pecan pancakes. As someone who usually gets some sort of egg the rare times I actually do eat breakfast out, these pancakes were the icing on the cake of a terrific First Meal of the Day.

Being the glutton that I am, I couldn’t help but order us a side of Toast’s home fries, which were dusted with paprika and rosemary that somehow went fantastically, much to my delight, with our maple syrup.
The poor fella had to hear me go on and on and on about how amazing these flavors melded together.

While it’s going to take me a long, long time to work off my hearty and yummy breakfast at Toast, I can’t wait to go back – and urge anyone and everyone to get themselves there stat!

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Food writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Toast” of the town

  1. Tom Roarty says:

    It was a really great place with a very hip, artistic atmosphere, I am so glad you finally got a chance to go!

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

