Writerly guilty pleasures

I have lots of little guilty pleasures.

Chocolate, “Sex and the City,” listening to CDs for hours on repeat and stealing my fella’s Pratt sweatshirt notwithstanding, some of my favorite guilty pleasures are the “writerly” ones, and some of the biggest ones are as follows:

Catching up with the lives of my favorite bloggers:
Rockstar Diaries:  I discovered Naomi and her husband, Josh, more than two years ago, when their blog was a Blog of the Day on Blogger, and I’ve been one of their thousands of groupies ever since. They’ve since moved from New York City to Washington, D.C. and added a puppy and daughter to the mix, and their diary has never been more fabulous and inspiring.
A Beautiful Mess: Not being a crafty kind of person (I’m the type of gal who slices her finger trying to make a romantic dinner + dessert for her fella – which happened just this Friday, actually), I kind of live vicariously through Elsie and company. And the fact that she owns a darling vintage shop just makes me swoon – her outfits are to die for!
Andrew + Carissa: I’m a new reader to this blog, and I just find them and their new daughter, Rinah, who they adopted from Uganda, so touching. I can’t wait to see what’s next for this newly formed family!
Marci & Daniel: I love the photos from these two New Yorkers who I also just started reading up on in the past few weeks. And I absolutely adore their “12 Dates of Christmas” idea!

Drooling over Bon Appetit magazine.
— As stated above, I am not very crafty. When it comes to cooking, I am a nervous Nellie, who always makes a mess – of my kitchen and my fingers (and, just once, my foot, when I dropped a knife on it). But I love, love, love getting a new Bon Appetit in my mailbox. I pore over every issue, salivate over every picture and imagine myself pulling off every recipe with panache. And since new editor Adam Rapoport took the helm, I’ve loved BA even more. Though there are still plenty of recipes that call for things I’d never be able to find in my little one-horse town, BA seems more attainable (read: far less snooty) than it was when I first started subscribing, and I’ll drink and eat to that.
This weekend, making the aforementioned Romantic Dinner + Dessert, I sliced my finger making my very first recipe from BA – stay tuned for that story!

Journaling.
— I’ve kept a journal since roughly 1994. While I’m not as religious about it of late as I have always been, it’s still a big part of who I am. It’s a way for me to gather my thoughts, work through things that might be bothering me and, above all, it’s a way for me to remember the details – no matter how miniscule – of this thing I call life.

That’s just the start to this new feature, Writerly Guilty Pleasures.
Now you tell me some of yours!

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Writerly Guilty Pleasures and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

