Creating life.

I love the promise of a new journal.

Closing the back cover of the old me, opening to a brand-new, impeccably perfect page to begin anew.

My 22nd journal since 1994.

 
It’s enough to make me dizzy with hope, especially now with 2012 closing in at a rapid-fire pace.

I saw a lot of changes in my life with Journal No. 21, which took more a year and a half to finish, making it one of my slowest journaling times ever. 

Some of those changes were amazing, like finding the kind of fella I’ve been waiting for and developing and loving our nuclear family of four (well, six if you count the bearded dragons I now call my pets), getting my promotion to The Editrix and a million other happy things.

We’ve survived (knock wood) illness, long distance and other things that have made us stronger in the long run, and through it all – good and bad – my journal du jour and blue PaperMate pen have been there documenting it.

For whom, besides me, I don’t know. 
But I do know that without these pages on which to dream, scream, cry, laugh and most of all, remember, I don’t know what I would do.

Or who I would even be.

Ready to remember now - and beyond.

NMM

(photos taken with my iPhone’s Instagram app)

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Journal, Writerly Guilty Pleasures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creating life.

  1. irisbass says:

    Reblogged this on irisbass.

  2. Writer Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

  3. subtlekate says:

    I feel such a responsibility when opening a new journal. They are different to my notebooks. They are sacred things and what goes in them is so important to me. I’m thrilled to meet someone who love them so.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

