Start a resolution

I’m a list maker.
I get an almost sick high from making one, and the euphoria continues when I cross something off via a Sharpie or a highlighter.

So it goes without saying that I’ve made a New Year’s Resolution List for as long as I can remember.

This year, though, I’m doing something a little different: I made three lists for myself.
Anal retentive much?

I did a resolution list for myself on my exercise blog, Run, Nikki, Run, I’m going to do a personal one for myself in my journal, and I’ll be doing one for my writing life right here on Ink For Blood.

I’ve been champing at the bit that past few weeks in anticipation of compiling my lists, so what better way/day to unveil them then right here on New Year’s Eve, as everyone in my family is occupied with themselves around the house, and I have a few minutes to myself.

– Continue blogging regularly.

– Write something for myself every. single. day.
I made this challenge to myself a few years back and really stuck with it, notating each time I wrote something that wasn’t for my newspaper day job in one of those trusty little calendar books I pilfer from Hallmark every year.  To me, writing for myself is a blog (no matter how long or short it is), a haiku or tanka, a journal entry or working on my novel(s). I look forward to the challenge, especially since I’ve been blogging a lot more lately and am feeling so, so much more inspired by it.  

– Take more pics, for myself and for my blog(s).

– Find a freelance gig.
This has been on my in-my-head list for a long time now, and I vow to make 2012 the year of Nikki the Freelancer.

What do you, my fellow writing friends, vow to resolve in your writing life in the coming 12 months? Share with me here.

NMM

(photo taken on my iPhone using Instagram)

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in On writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Start a resolution

  1. Mandy Boyle says:

    I’d love to help with your freelancing resolution 🙂 Send me an email – I know of a few places that are good for finding gigs, plus some of my favorite freelancer hangouts.

  2. Thanks, Mandy! The e-mail is being sent! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Ink for Blood’s 12-month plan | Ink for Blood

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

