Bookworm: ‘Hunger’ hype

I try not to ever be one who follows hype.

A prime example: I didn’t see “Titanic” until about 2002, and then was the person who walked into work the next day saying, “Holy shit, did anyone see this movie called ‘Titanic?’ What a masterpiece!'” And so on with things of this nature.
Unless, of course, it has anything to do with “The Avengers” or “Captain America,” then I am among the millions hyping the heck out of anything related to that.   

So when I started hearing people talk about and Entertainment Weekly begin to write about the upcoming movie “The Hunger Games,” I didn’t pay any attention to the, again, hype surrounding the film version of Suzanne Collins’ 2008 book.

Until the 12-year-old girl child holed up in her room with nary a peep for most of last Saturday to read the first book. She walked out Sunday morning and could not stop talking about how good it was. Slowly, my resolve began to melt and when she offered to let me borrow it, I was already too intrigued to say no.

So there I was Monday night, curling up at bedtime with a book borrowed from the girl child’s middle school and before I knew it, I blew through the first 60 pages.

After a particularly treacherous deadline day thanks to the fallout from a lovely newly developed food allergy, I came home and crawled into bed at 8 p.m. with “The Hunger Games” in hand.

My heart pounding for Katniss and her survival (clearly, I knew she would win because I did read many of those articles and know there’s two more books, but how how how could I know how harrowing and brilliantly written her ordeal would be?! My galoshes!), I felt like I was right up in those trees with her, in the cave with her and Peeta and every time one of those mutt’s tried to get in the Cornucopia, I jolted back right along with them.
The way Collins grabbed and enthralled me was akin to how I was I read Justin Cronin’s “The Passage,” or my all-time favorite book, “The Historian” by Elizabeth Kostova.

At 1 a.m., just over 24 hours after I first picked it up, I closed “The Hunger Games.” Finished. Amazed. Spent.
And promptly took to my social media pages with, “Hey, did anyone hear of this book …”

I can’t wait to get started on the next two and hope the movie, out March 23, lives up to its – ahem – hype that I am obviously now part of.

What did you think of the book, and what are your hopes for the film?

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Bookworm and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bookworm: ‘Hunger’ hype

  1. theRibz says:

    Well… It’s not a literary achievement, but it’s good. Exhilarating and hooks you to it. From what I’ve seen around the web, I think the movie will be pretty darn good! I guess we’ll know by the end of the month…

  2. I am a school librarian and it’s so great to have a well-written book become so popular. Hunger Games exceeds a lot of the trendy middle school fiction.

    • Honestly, some of the books on the girl child’s list scare me – I was reading Judy Blum at her age for heavens sake, but as look as kids are reading real, actual books, I’m happy!

  3. Katniss was a very hard character for me to relate to, but I was interested enough in the other aspects of the first book to finish it. I made it about 100 pages into the second one before calling it a lost cause (for me).

    That being said, I am excited to watch the movie. I feel having a real, breathing person playing the character will give her dimension I felt was lacking in the book. It’s a heck of an interesting premise!

  4. Pingback: Bookworm: ‘Game’ over | Ink for Blood

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

