Creativity loves company

I’m sure you know the old adage “Misery loves company,” right?
It’s really so very true – I find it so easy sometimes to be negative because I’m surrounded by so much most days, but that’s not what this blog is about.

Nope, this blog is about the creative high I’m experiencing right now – everything around me is an inspiration – from the fresh, clean air that’s wafting through my open windows to the sound of the train making its way past the end of my street to the sound of my fingers typing this very sentence.
The only thing that would make it better was if that sound was from a vintage typewriter. Dear Apple, since you are the makers of all things that are awesome, why don’t you go ahead and invent a computer that looks – and sounds – like an old typewriter? Please? I’ll get over my fear of Macs … pretty please?

The fella is going through one of the most creative times of his life, and I’m feeding off of it. To hear an excitement in his voice that wasn’t there before, to be a sounding board, to assist him in this creative flow is so inspiring for my own creative endeavours.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I can’t stop writing or thinking about writing. Filling the next page in my journal, getting that much closer to the end of my haiku/tanka notebook with every one I write, looking at pictures from the weekend that make me want to write, the gorgeous, cold and secluded Long Island beach, the stoic, sentinel-like Empire State Building, a seagull cutting against the azure sky, sunset over the Sound … My fingers itch, they hurt to get the words out. 

Sorry misery, there’s a whole new sheriff in town and creativity says best stay the hell away for good.  

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Haiku/Tanka, Journal, New York City, On writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

