The editrix & the writer

“Why do you write so much?” a friend ask a few weeks back after seeing an issue of the paper in which I had three or four stories. “I thought being an editor meant you didn’t have to write so much.”
How could I explain why I write several stories some weeks without sounding cliche? But when I replied, cliche is exactly what came out.

“I write because I have to.”

No, not only to keep my budget down or because I don’t like to delegate – it’s the exact opposite, actually.  I do write because I have to. It’s my passion – and it always will be. I’m just lucky I get to work in a place I can still do both.

I can’t just be the person who writes her weekly “Letter from the Editor” and then edits other people’s articles while handling the day-to-day duties of a paper. I want to do it all: To be in the trenches talking to people, finding out their stories, their passions … in addition to handling budgets, payroll, the ever-changing facets of the web and social media and whatever else comes up.  

I am proud to be an editrix, and I worked (and work) really hard to wear this hat – it’s a wonderful bonus that it fits so well with the writer hat that’ll forever be bolted to my head.
Now if I could just get my hands on one of those old-fashioned cameras, just to have, to go with the fedora …

Like most jobs, there are many hats that come with being an editrix.

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in On writing, The Editrix and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The editrix & the writer

  1. Excellent post today. Thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

