Story Snippet, No. 17

For this week’s issue, I got to interview one of my favorite musicians: Rob Zombie.

Rob Zombie, photo by Rick Fagan

Since I first heard “Thunder Kiss ’65” way back in the early ’90s, Rob Zombie has fascinated me – so I was pretty stoked to be able to talk to him about his show here in Northeastern Pennsylvania this week, his new movie, upcoming album and possibly being a nerd.

You can read the full article here, but here are some quotes that didn’t make the story cut.

On doing his own series on The Nerdist YouTube following his sort-of impersonation of the fourth “Dr. Who:”  
“Chris Hardwick who is The Nerdist, we’ve been friends for a long, long time, so when he was putting this whole thing together, he called me up and said, ‘Do you want to do this show? You can do whatever you want, basically the only prerequisite is it should be something that if you go to Comic-Con, you would dig it.’ (laughs) The boundaries of what he wanted were pretty vague (laughs) but it was pretty much, ‘If nerd culture can embrace it, we’re good, we don’t even care what it is. It could be a cartoon, it could be a cooking show.’”

On how he never seems to take time off:
“You never look at, I don’t anyway, look at the work I’ve done and go, ‘Aw, perfect,’ I always look at everything, and go, ‘Well, I’ll fix it on the next one.’ A lot of times when I get away from things for years and I go back and look at it, I’ll be really happy with what it was, but at the time, you’re so close to it, it’s hard to feel that way, and so you’re driven to the next project, be it the next album, the next tour, movie or whatever.”

Now, this question I asked for completely selfish reasons: As you know, Rob Zombie directed some of the biggest horror movies of the past decade, but he also did an animated little number called “The Haunted World of El Superbeasto” that is utterly, fantastically brilliant, hilarious and all sorts of wrong – which is why I adore it. The end of the film alludes to a sequel, so I asked if there was actually an “El Superbeasto” sequel in the works, to which Mr. Zombie replied:
“I doubt it, I mean, I don’t know, maybe? There are no plans; the reason I said ‘no’ at first was there’s no plans and no one’s ever approached me about doing it, but at the same time, some things become strangely popular as time goes on, and when the movie came out and I posed that, probably nobody would want to do it, but 10 years go by, and you bring it up to somebody and they go, ‘Oh, God, yes!’ — the good thing about animation is you could do it 20 years from now and nobody would be older, they look right where we left off (laughs).”

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Story Snippets, The Editrix and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

