Bookworm: “Gone Girl”

After the utter distaste reading “The Receptionist” left in my mouth (which I blogged about here), I desperately needed to follow it with something good. Something with depth.

After researching Kindle reviews and putting the question of “What should I read next?” to my Twitter followers, I decided on Gillian Flynn’s “Gone Girl.”

Wow.
Wow.
What a palate cleanser!

From the first chapter, written from the perspective of husband Nick as he finds his wife, Amy, is missing on their fifth anniversary, “Gone Girl” sucks you into this world of the fallen-into-genteel-poverty former New Yorkers. Chapters alternate between Nick’s and Amy’s perspectives; hers is, at first, through old entries in her journal.

“Gone Girl” takes you on Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride of emotions on the search for Amy as Nick slowly uncovers clues to her annual “Anniversary Scavenger Hunt,” which she always put on to celebrate their past year in love. As the reader, I was admittedly jealous of the fabulous New York life Amy described in her journal, until the recession hit, and they needed to move back to his hometown in Missouri.

As Nick’s character – or lack thereof – developed through the book, I came to actually loathe him, as his passages of handling Amy’s disappearance were the antithesis of Amy’s in-love tales.
Seriously, haven’t we all been in past relationships where we loved the other a little (or a lot) more than they loved us? So these passages are all so very relatable. 

So I sat there flipping page after page, unable to read fast enough to answer all the questions swirling in my mind, until the bottom drops out, and the story completely changes. I mean, boom goes the dynamite – and now, I really couldn’t read fast enough to see how it all played out.

Well, I won’t spoil the punchline, but Flynn plays out “Gone Girl” beautifully. It is worth all the accolades it’s been getting, and I have no doubt that it’ll top many “Best of” lists come December – and it’s the frontrunner on mine.

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Bookworm and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bookworm: “Gone Girl”

  1. susanbright says:

    I am just getting ready to start Gone Girl. Our book club is reading it this month. We were ready for a good mystery!

  2. Cassie says:

    I really want to read this because it sounds like the pacing is SPOT ON, but people have made me fear the ending. Did you hate the ending? Did it make you want to throw the book?

  3. Subtlekate says:

    I read the sample on my kindle and loved it so parked it read next. After reading your review I am looking forward to it.

  4. Pingback: Bookworm: “Forever” by Pete Hamill | Ink for Blood

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

