Meeting the challenge, or writing outside my comfort zone

“The challenge is what was making it exciting.
You don’t want to do anything that’s too easy or that you know that you can pull off, otherwise it’s really not worth doing.” 

Robert Rodriguez

As excited as I was to leave my former position to move to New York for work + life, I’ll admit there some trepidation.

Of course there was: I was leaving a position I was at for more than six years, a position that I knew like the back of my hand, content I could write about blindfolded, a comfort zone I had enveloped myself in.

In the end, that was kind of the problem, though I really did love the arts-and-entertainment sector.
Oooh, look, a month into my new position, and I drop a word like “sector!”

I needed to get out of my comfort zone – and that I have.

It’s been exciting practically learning a whole new realm of writing and editing. Challenging, yes, but in a good way.

It’s humbling to go from knowing everything to learning from the ground up again, and I am learning so many new things that I know are making me a better writer, a smarter writer and, most importantly, a more well-rounded writer.
And I am really loving the website, social-media stuff, videos and podcasts I’m doing, too. 

Too bad I don’t plan on owning a car ever again because I am making some pretty damn good connections in the world of auto loans …

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in New York City, On writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meeting the challenge, or writing outside my comfort zone

  1. Pingback: No Comfort Zone Challenge: Update « Inside Out Cafe

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

