A little bit of a horn toot

It’s always hard to make the jump into new waters, be it a job, relationship, town or even a brand-new mindset.

I spent six-plus years writing about arts and entertainment, which I truly adored, before I up and walked the plank to leap into the sea of auto-finance writing.

It goes without saying that there’s been an immense learning curve, and yes, there are a lot of differences between talking to top-level execs from companies like Toyota or GM and rockstars like Rob Zombie or Gene Simmons, but the fact of the matter is, the job is still pretty much the same.

You talk to someone, you write something, and hopefully, someone reads it, likes it, likes it enough to comment, share or even add their two cents.

Sometimes, especially when writing for print, be it a magazine or a newspaper, it’s hard to know exactly what your true readership is. Sure, you’ve got your subscription numbers and all, but really, you just can’t tell the reach of an actual article … unless you’re writing for web, of course.

Last week, I got a great e-mail from my senior editor, saying that five of my recent stories got more than 1,400 hits on our website, some stories had more than 300 hits, which were the most the site’s seen.

So even though I’ve still got a some learning to do, it looks like I’m on the right track – just the way I like it. And it’s always great to get good feedback from your superior – something people really don’t get too much of sometimes.

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in On writing, The Editrix and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

