Ink for Blood’s 12-month plan

Ahh, is there anything as exciting as making annual resolutions? 365
I look forward to them every year, and when I look back on them come the following December, I’m happy I stuck with them as best I could – or disappointed that I didn’t.

Before I talk about my plans for the coming year, I’d like to take a look at what I vowed to do in 2012.

– Continue blogging regularly.
– Write something for myself every. single. day.
– Take more pics, for myself and for my blog(s).
– Find a freelance gig.

Well, I think I blogged more than ever, and even created a brand-new blog to be a virtual diary of sorts for my dream-come-true move to New York. 

And though the writing for myself fell to the wayside a bit with said move (so much to see! so much to do!), I did write for myself more than ever before, clocking in at 100-plus days in a row over the summer via journaling, blogging, writing haikus and tankas or working on my novel.

I think that’s something that I am most proud of this year. Even if it was a short journal entry just before I shut the lights out, I still did it for many, many days in a row.

Having said that, I’ve been thinking a lot about my next 365-day project, which was partly inspired by one of my favorite bloggers, Elsie Larson of A Beautiful Mess.

A fantastic photog, Elsie is going to be taking a picture a day around her new home every day in the coming year. While I’d love to do a photo-based challenge (even moreso when I get my new iPhone in March – hellllllo flash!), I’m more of a writing gal (hence the name of this here blog!), and I think that would be more challenging for me personally.

So I really want to focus on writing every single day again. Once I master that, maybe, just maybe, next year will be The Year I Finish The Novel (For Real).
Who knows, maybe that’ll be something that ends up happening over the course of the next 12 months … 

One thing I’m really, really excited about is a collaboration that the fella and I are working on. As the most creative person I’ve ever met – one that drives and inspires me to be more creative every single day – I am looking so forward to getting this plan off the ground and into the air, so to speak.
Ooops, I’ve said too much already …

I wish you a happy, healthy and super-creative 2013. Thanks for reading for another year!

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in 365-Day Project, On writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ink for Blood’s 12-month plan

  1. Pingback: Here’s to another 365 days | Ink for Blood

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

