UPDATED: 30-Day Poetry Challenge: Day 1

Some people I follow on Twitter were chattering about a 30-day poetry challenge today, in honor of April being National Poetry Month. After thinking about it all day, I think I’d like to give it a try, though I’m not much of a poet, beyond writing haikus and tankas. It just seems like such an out-of-the-box challenge for me that I almost have to do it.
Don’t tell WordPress, but I found the one I’m going to do here.**

So let’s get started, shall we?

Day 1: Write a poem where each line starts with a letter from your first name (an Acrostic). It can be about anything, but it should not be about you or your name.

Nothing says 
I love you quite like a
knife in the back,
killing every last breath 
in an instant. 

Good Lord, I can be dark sometimes. And I’m OK with that.

NMM

ADDENDUM: It came to my attention after this was posted that this first poem is actually from last year’s 30DBPC (whoopsie!). Here is the challenge’s 2013 Facebook site, and here is Twitter. I’ll start the 2013 list with today’s post … just because I really like my name, and I’m glad I started off with that one!

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in 30-Day Poetry Challenge, 365-Day Project, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to UPDATED: 30-Day Poetry Challenge: Day 1

  1. Hi, there! I am part of the team who created the 30 Day Poetry Challenge. While you are welcome to use the prompts you found online, they are actually from last year! We have a whole new set of them this year. You can join the fun at facebook.com/30dpc or twitter.com/30dpc. Whichever ones you do, good luck and have fun! -Amelia

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

