30-Day Poetry Challenge, check!

I can’t believe it’s May 1 and my first 30-Day Poetry Challenge is over.

I hope it’s not conceited, but I feel proud of  myself because, aside from the occasional haiku and tanka, poetry was never really my thing.

Poetry was always something that I just didn’t get. Sure, I’ve enjoyed turns from Dylan Thomas or Robert Frost, but I wasn’t the person who would curl up with a book of poetry, ever.

But the 30DPC really changed that for me. While not all the poems I wrote were knocked out of the park, there are a few that I am really, really proud to have written. There were just a few days where I groaned at the challenge for a few minutes before hunkering down, and some of those became my favorites. I loved thinking outside of my creative box and having a daily challenge that became such a big part of my 365-Day Project.

Last week, the fella asked me what I was going to do when the 30DPC was over, and I didn’t have an answer aside from the fact that I was nervous about losing all that creativity. So he proposed a project that we can work on together, and I’m really excited to unveil it in a few days once we get our ducks in a row.

So stay tuned, and thank you everyone who read and liked my 30DPC posts — I enjoyed reading so many of the great entries, and can’t wait for next year and the next writing challenge. Who knows, maybe this is going to be the year I tackle NaNoWriMo!

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in 30-Day Poetry Challenge, 365-Day Project, On writing, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

