Writers’ Wisdom

I’m a big fan of quotes, the more empowering the better. In my old house, I used to have a wall with tons of different quotes from writers that I’d use as inspiration to better my writing skills.

In honor of that, I’m going to start a new feature here on Ink for Blood called Writers’ Wisdom, with nuggets from some of my favorite writers to ponder and be inspired by.

Photo from Getty Images.

Photo from Getty Images.

With the soon-to-be-released big-screen version of her “Tiger Eyes,” I feel Judy Blume is a great writer to start with. At my parents’ house, there is a box that has dog-eared copies of   Blume’s books from “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret?” and “Forever” to “Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing” and my childhood favorite, “Just as Long as We’re Together.” And, of course, I can’t forget my favorites to re-read as an adult, “Wifey,” “Smart Women” and the fantastic “Summer Sisters.”

Without further ado, let’s see what Judy Blume has to say about writing, and be on the lookout for future installments of this feature!

“The best books come from someplace inside.
You don’t write because 
you want to, but because you have to.”
Judy Blume 

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Writers' Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writers’ Wisdom

  1. I love quotes as well. I find them to be a huge part of my inspiration. The Jude Blume one you included is so true. Most people feel that the only way to express themselves is through writing, not cause they have a pen and thought why not. Great post and keep up the blogging 🙂

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

