Bookworm: “Game of Thrones”

About two months ago, I came home from a weekend visiting my parents, and the fella said that I needed to watch this show he had watched while I was gone because “I know you’re gonna love it,” he said. He’d only gotten one episode in and waited to watch the rest with me.

I halfheartedly nodded and sat down, too tired from my travels to argue against watching something that soooo many people wouldn’t shut up about. I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again, I’m not one for following the masses.
Exhibit A: The above sentence was typed by someone who didn’t see “Titanic” until nearly five years after its release, so that should tell you something.

A boxset of the first four 'GOT' books (and two magnets for moi!)

A boxset of the first four ‘GOT’ books (and two magnets for moi!)

But there I was watching my first episode of “Game of Thrones.” Over the next week or so, we were sincerely and utterly enthralled and blazed through all three seasons of the hit HBO series.

But I couldn’t stop there.
When I get obsessed, I get obsessed.
So we headed to the best bookstore on the planet, Strand, where I got the first four books in the series. I have since been lost in the world of “GOT” every day on the subway to and from work and whenever else I can steal a moment to read.

There are so many characters and so many lands to keep straight. I honestly don’t know how people who started their love for “GOT” with the doorstopper books kept up, but I think getting into the show first really helped me because I could picture the actors to help keep all the characters straight.

What I liked about the series is how writer George R.R. Martin interweaves all these different characters and paints such a gorgeous, brilliant picture of the world ruled by the Iron Throne and the lands beyond its reach. Each word is painstakingly placed, it seems, and I have no idea how Martin has kept his head in his writing process when so many characters have lost theirs.

Even though I sort of hate him for it, you’ve got to love and/or respect an author who does the unthinkable and kills an easily beloved character … and then most of his family not too long after later. Yes, I’m totally House Stark through and through and will forever be haunted by Ned’s beheading and the outcome of the “Red Wedding.”
Le sigh.

But now that book three, “A Storm of Swords,” which I’m currently on, seems to be up to date with the TV series, I’m a nervous wreck about what’s to come that I don’t know about. I don’t handle surprises very well, but I guess that means I’ll be reading all the more faster now. Can’t wait to see how the rest of the books play out and how HBO will film them.

And, of course, to see just how big Dany’s dragons get!

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Bookworm and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bookworm: “Game of Thrones”

  1. I read the first book. Unlike most people, my reaction was only lukewarm. It was okay, but I won’t be continuing in the series.

  2. Deana says:

    Well now I had zero desire to watch this as well and kept refusing. Maybe I should take a gander at it after all.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

