If music be the food of love, write on

Sometimes my mind just goes dark.
Not to be confused with the times it just goes blank, I mean dark as in moody. Sinister. Morose. Maybe even melancholy on occasion. You get the point.

If I were to go through my haiku/tanka notebooks, for example, I’d wager that about 94% of the hundreds of poems in there would fall under such adjectives.

It is what it is.

I’ve come to terms with it and really think it suits me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m generally a pretty happy person, but there’s just always been this dark part of my mind that really likes to come out when I’m writing.

Now that we’ve cleared that up, I started writing something about two months ago, and I really don’t visit it as often as I should, but when I do, I feel really good about it. It’s made up of these short little chapters, vignettes from two different character’s perspectives. I am mulling not naming the characters, which is so odd for me because I usually love naming, but these two have these very dark, anonymous scenes going on that I am really digging right now.

When I was rereading the previous chapters tonight, I changed something I think may end up playing some big role. The female character has a tattoo of a song lyric on her right wrist. Originally, it was “This is the end” from The Doors, but tonight that no longer felt right for where these characters are going.

And since I’m in a self-described “mood,” there’s no one else that I turn to when in said “mood” than my beloved Nick Cave. I knew I wanted to find some powerful song lyric from him, and after looking at a huge list of his songs on a lyrics site, I clicked first on “Slowly Goes the Night” and found the perfect line, which is simply the title with the word “so” in front of it.
The song is incredible. You should listen to it. Here, I’ll even post it:

Making that small change has very literally shifted the story into a gear I wasn’t expecting, and I couldn’t be happier. I have written before, I think, about how music is a huge influence on my writing, mostly because I must have something playing in the background as an added inspiration, but tonight, music instilled itself even further, and I can’t wait to write — err, “play”on like the Bard originally wrote.

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in On writing, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If music be the food of love, write on

  1. Pingback: Writers’ Wisdom | Ink for Blood

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

