Writers’ Wisdom

David+Sedaris“I can only write when it’s dark, so basically,
my whole day is spent waiting for it to get dark.”

David Sedaris 

This is pretty much my philosophy — and it’s one I need to change, stat, as NaNoWriMo begins tomorrow. I have most of the day to work on my book because I’m home alone, but there is just something so unnatural to me about writing during the daylight hours. No matter how early I get up, which is usually pretty early, my writing mind usually hits full steam after the sun sets.

It’s the weirdest thing, really. I love the sun, seeing it stream through the blinds and being out in it, especially this time of year, but as my writing often tends to be on the darker side, sunshine is not the best companion for my typing fingers.

Well, NaNoWriMo will take me out of my comfort zone, so it seems now is as good a time as any to change some of my writing habits. Wish me luck … but I have the feeling there’s going to be more than a few late nights this November …

NMM 

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, On writing, Writers' Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

