A novel experience through NaNoWriMo

I spent most of November doing something I always wanted to do, ever since I grabbed my first notebook at the age of 10 and started writing the first of hundreds of unfinished stories I’d write out, first in blue ink and then in Word on a laptop.

I wrote a book.
A novel.
A story that I actually finished. 

2013-12-02 17.47.19I did it as part of NaNoWriMo, and I loved the challenge of trying to write a 50,000-word novel in 30 days. Unlike the fella, who clocked in a few days early with more than 60,000 words, I didn’t get the fancy winner certificate that now resides on our bookcase because my story was just over 44,000 words. 

At first, it bothered me that he, in a sense, beat me at something that is, technically, kinda my thing. Though it wasn’t a competition between us, I think we all know it kind of was, especially since this whole writing thing is, well, kind of my thing. He’s a brilliant designer by trade, so I should have run circles around him this month, but alas, my story, which is entitled (spoiler alert!!) “Shag,” was a slow burner. Some chapters took their time revealing themselves, and I am so very glad they did because I am really happy with the outcome.

After having a successful and super inspiring outing in April as part of the 30-Day Poetry Challenge, I knew this would be the year I tackled NaNoWriMo. I’m very big on yearly traditions (hello, resolutions!), so I will definitely sign back up next year and get a certificate of my very own. 

Until then, the editing process starts tomorrow on the 77 pages of “Shag,” and I’ll hopefully start the process of getting it published. Plus, I already have a second book mapped out to start after that’s all done, so it appears I’ll be quite busy until next November comes. 

Hope everyone had a great NaNoWriMo, too! 

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in 365-Day Project, NaNoWriMo, On writing, Project Novel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A novel experience through NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: Coffee and Conversation: That Post-NaNoWriMo Glow | shanjeniah

  2. Pingback: 730 days of writing | Ink for Blood

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

