Here’s to another 365 days

365I saw this quote posted by several people on Facebook last night, and I think it’s just perfect for the plans I have for my writing in 2014.

My main resolution last year was to write something for myself every day, and for the first time in a lifetime of making resolutions, I did it. I actually did it. For every single day of 2013, I wrote something for myself.

According to my trusty Writing Log Book, that amounted to:

177 journal entries
154 blogs on Ink for Blood, Run, Nikki, Run or Nikki & New York
37 days of working on The Novel, which I started and finished as part of NaNoWriMo
31 tankas
30 poems as part of April’s 30-Day Poetry Challenge
26 haikus
23 other poems
13 music articles for Highway 81 Revisited
6 miscellaneous writing projects

It wasn’t an easy task, but it was one I desperately needed to do for myself, and I am so glad that I did it. Not just for bragging rights, which I plan to yell from a mountain top or two, but just to keep myself creative as I spent a great part of the year writing for my rent money as opposed to writing for myself. This resolution changed that, and that’s why it’s not just going to be a New Year’s resolution, but a lifetime resolution now.

Additionally, with that finished novel under my belt, I hope 2014 will be the year I fulfill my lifelong dream of becoming a published author โ€ฆ and hopefully get book No. 2 written as well.

Here’s to you 2013, you were full of ups and downs and lots and lots and lots of words that helped get me back on track as a writer. And to you, 2014, I give you a resounding welcome and a brand-new blank Writing Log Book. Let’s do this, shall we?

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in 365-Day Project, Creative Pursuits, On writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Here’s to another 365 days

  1. Lala Rukh says:

    wow that was quite a big number of posts ! Impressive ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I could do the same in 2014. Wish me luck, please ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Pingback: That New Year smell | Run, Nikki, Run

  3. Pingback: The Pen Pal Project | Ink for Blood

  4. Pingback: 730 days of writing | Ink for Blood

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

