30-Day Poetry Challenge: Day 10

Day 10: Resonance – Some words have many meanings, like “resonance,” for example. Consult a dictionary for a word that resonates with you and has multiple meanings. Incorporate the definition/s into a poem. You can identify the word itself, or not.

More than lifting the strongest weight 
like a mustachioed bodybuilder of yore,
it’s remaining unbroken when the wild winds howl,
it’s resisting even the most enticing temptation, 
it’s having 10,000 soldiers standing upright at your back,
strength is not a word in you find in a dictionary,
it’s a way of life.

It’s a way of life to pick yourself up,
to brush off the dust, the ashes, the doubt
and hold your head higher than it has ever been 
to pick up that dumbbell 
to bend with that howling wind
to resist that food, that flirt or pulling that trigger
to ready yourself for whatever you are about to meet
on this battlefield of life. 

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in 30-Day Poetry Challenge, 365-Day Project, Creative Pursuits, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30-Day Poetry Challenge: Day 10

  1. I love your writing, Nikki. You have inspired me to return to my blog. Thank you for this. I hope to meet you in person on my next trip to your beautiful city. Instagram is great but face to face is so much better. You are talented. Rejoice in that.

    • Thank you so much, Leslie! I appreciate your kind words, and I can’t wait to read your writings, too!

      And as for your next trip to New York, I would really love to finally meet face to face … the third time HAS to be a charm!! 🙂

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

