30-Day Poetry Challenge: Day 15

Day 15: Peeve Therapy – Think of an annoyance you harbor against someone in your life. Maybe it’s a passerby, a co-worker–maybe it’s a loved one. Write a poem where you confront a petty grudge head on, yet poetically.

Shutterstock photo

Shutterstock photo

Like you, I’m 
charmed
awed
enraptured 
by the sights, the sounds, the smells —
lights flashing, buildings taller than you’ve ever seen, history mixed with modern day;
horns blaring, trains thundering under and above, a din unlike any other;
wafting food trucks, pungent spring blooms, a bouquet of hot garbage. 

Like you I stare, 
enveloped in this city of wonder,
with fresh eyes every time I venture about 
its streets paved with hopes, dreams and yesterdays 
but I don’t do it standing in the middle of the goddamn sidewalk,
oblivious to everyone around me who might be trying to
maintain a fitness stat,
make it to a job interview,
catch the next bus home to Wichita to hear a dying breath. 

Like you, I get it.
I know it’s a whole new world, 
“Ohmigodthere’ssomuchtosee!”
in this city of New York,
but move to the side
or brace yourself for the impact
of my shoulder,
his shoulder,
her shoulder.

Move. 
Or be moved.
Because this is the city that never sleeps,
the city that never stops. 

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in 30-Day Poetry Challenge, 365-Day Project, Creative Pursuits, New York City, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

