730 days of writing

(modestcreation.com photo)

(modestcreation.com photo)

Another year of writing for myself has come and gone, still the only resolution I’ve ever kept. But given the business I’m in, it’s a pretty darn good resolution to make my bitch, non?

Like the year before it, I wrote something every single day of 2014. Here’s the breakdown according to my trusty Writing Log Book that’s never far from my reach:

208 journal entries
145 blogs across this site, Nikki & New York and Run, Nikki, Run
57 poems (30 as part of 30-Day Poetry Challenge)
29 haikus
15 tankas
13 days working on erotic short stories 
9 days writing for Highway 81 Revisited, a music blog I used to freelance for
8 letters as part of my Pen Pal Project
5 days working on The Novel(s)
3 miscellaneous writing projects

Sadly, I didn’t have the time or the energy to take part the 2014 NaNoWriMo, but I’m hoping to make time for it this year and really, really do something with what I wrote in 2013. I’ve been thinking about the novel a lot lately and feel I’m close to a resolution for a few chapters that were troubling me so much that I stayed away from reediting the book for most of the past year.

Plus, I’m really into the idea of doing an erotic short-story collection and have one story completed and a few others in various stages of, let’s say, undress, so that very well might be something worth exploring in 2015, too.

At any rate, the next 12 months are full of endless possibilities — and another 365 days of writing.

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in 365-Day Project, Creative Pursuits, On writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

