Happy Birthday, Hank

Ninety-five years ago today, one of my favorite writers, Charles Bukowski, was born in Germany. Time called him the “laureate of American lowlife” in 1986, and I don’t think there could be a more vivid or fitting description of my beloved Bukowski.

(jacketmagazine.com photo)

(jacketmagazine.com photo)

He was a womanizer, a dirt bag, a hard-core gambler, a smoker, a helluva drunk and, thank the Lord above, a writer above all else.

Despite his many shortcomings, his semi-autobiographical works that starred his literary alter-ego Henry “Hank” Chinaski” were nothing short of miraculous, nothing short of lyrical missives about the life he lived, the women he fucked, the drinks he drank, the horses he bet on, the un-glittery side of glittery Hollywood and the jobs he hated.

I first began loving him with “Post Office,” but our affair together truly began with the emotional “Ham on Rye,” which caused me to have my first openly crying episode on a New York City subway train. If you haven’t read Bukowski and want to start, I suggest you crack the top on this one first.

I may not have been aware of you while you were living, Hank, but I sure am proud to help you live on long after you’re gone. I’ll raise a toast to you tonight, good sir, and hope you’re sitting at your typer with a well-aged glass of something to quench your thirst with a buxom lady by your side.

Happy birthday, big guy. Happy birthday.

NMM

About nikkimmascali

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. Also of note: I follow more dogs than people on Instagram. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday, Hank

  1. Love Bukowski. This is awesome. Thanks for sharing!

    If you’re ever interested in some other awesome book reviews and literary musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!

