Cable Snit, A Po-em

Here I sit on my couch,
the soothing sound of the dryer going
curtains dancing in the heavenly breeze.

Happy I am to have the windows open so,
the air conditioning (hopefully) on a days-long siesta
that will magically make electric bill lesser.

For once, there’s no sound but for said dryer
and soon-to-turn leaves rustling in the wind.
It’s a perfect day to be inspired …

… if I wasn’t waiting for The Cable Guy.
Each time inspiration hits,
I’m almost forget Comcast is coming.

Didn't TVs like this just seem to work better than super-fancy ones do today?

Again.
To fix the cable and Internet
they so kindly charge me a lot for.

 

As I listen to the birds chirp, 
cars drive by, and
I wonder, “Do I really need TV?”

With writing and
reading and
– wait the Internet just crashed
For real, when I was writing this stanza

I lived so long without it,
10 years, in fact, no doubt,
but now, how do I break up?

With OnDemand?
With “Wilfred,” the return of “Always Sunny,” with “Jerseylicious”
(which I unabashedly find myself craving)?

And there’s the rub.
Comcast, I hate you so,
but need you almost as much.

Damn it.

NMM

About Nikki Mascali Roarty

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cable Snit, A Po-em

  1. Tom Roarty says:

    TV-Crack
    FX-The Dealer
    Comcast-The Cartel

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!