Writers’ Wisdom

While I very much agree with the first half of this week’s wisdom, I can’t say the same for the rest of the R/GA COO’s statement. But as a whole, it works, so here it is.

Yes, creativity is a habit. It’s something to cultivate every day, something to tend to like a beloved houseplant sitting near a sunny window.

But the shower is one of those kinda weird hotbeds of creative spurts, at least it is for me. I don’t know what it is. Maybe, depending on when you usually shower, it’s the fact that it’s a full-body cleanse of washing away of the trials and tribulations of your day/life/night.

There have been many a time that I, and the fella, too, have stormed out of the bathroom damp from a shower to relay or write something down that turned into something, whether it be a poem, article headline, website design, episode idea for our podcast or funny social media post.

I personally think that creativity happens anywhere you are — if you’re creative enough to harness it.

(pulsosocial.com photo)

(pulsosocial.com photo)

“Creativity is a habit,
it’s not something that happens in the shower.”

Nick Law

NMM

About Nikki Mascali Roarty

I am an editor, writer and New Yorker who has ink for blood and the blog name + tattoo to prove it. This is my blog about reading, writing and absolutely no 'rithmetic because I am horrendous at math.
This entry was posted in Writers' Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you thought about this post!